One of those days

bilboThis morning my alarm, which is usually set at 6.30am, went off at 5.30am.  I was up at 5.55am.  Out the door at 6.30am.  On a train at 7am and walking clueless past the building I was due at in London at 9.15am.
I left the course early, but not early enough, at 4.55pm.  Ran to the tube station, leapt onto the wrong tube, rode to the next stop, leapt off the wrong tube and waited for the right tube at 5.04pm.  Got to Paddington station at 5.17pm when my train was leaving at 5.15pm.  Waited for the next train and arrived at my car at 7.05pm.  Putting the windscreen wiper on interval, forgetting I had done so, realising there was ice on the windscreen, getting out to scrape it off and getting bashed in the head by the windscreen wipers at 7.10pm.  Arrived home and slightly overtired and hyperactive at 7.20pm.  Remembered I needed to write a blog post at 9.15pm…

I have no news to share because I have no idea what’s been going on in the world and I can’t discuss or make a point because my head hurts…and my back and legs.

But I’ll tell you what I have been doing.  Reading!  Four hours on a train reading The Hobbit.  So I thought, this evening, I would share with you a quote from The Hobbit which made me smile on a train surrounded by strangers while every muscle in my body ached;

‘”I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my path led.  And through the air.  I am he that walks unseen.”
“So I can well believe,” said Smaug.  “But that is hardly your usual name.”
“I am the clue-finder, the web-cutter, the stinging fly.  I was chosen for the lucky number.”
“Lovely titles!”  sneered Smaug.  “But lucky numbers don’t always come off.”
“I am he that buries his friends alive and drowns them and draws them alive again from the water.  I came from the end of a bag, but no bag went over me.”
“These don’t sound so creditable,” scoffed Smaug.
“I am the friend of bears and the guest of eagles.  I am the Ringwinner and Luckwearer; and I am Barrel-rider,” went on Bilbo…’

I thought I would find the novel of The Hobbit tedious but I’ve fallen in love with it.  I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to owning An Unexpected Journey on 8th April and seeing The Desolation of Smaug in December, without wanting to wish the year away!

But first there is March and more about that on Friday…

Leave a Reply

