Friday Round Up

womens dayToday is International Womens Day!  So I thought, after reminded by a friend, that this would be a brilliant topic for a blog post.  Who are my favourite women writers?

Well, yes, now see that’s the problem.  I don’t read a lot of female writers, mainly because the few female fantasy authors that I have read I have really disliked.  I put this down to not having not read many female authors.  But never fear!  My New Year resolution for 2013 is to read more female fantasy authors and have started with Kate Griffin’s A Madness of Angels which so far is amazing.

So hopefully this time next year I will be able to do that blog post on my favourite female fantasy writers.

In the meantime, here is some cool stuff I’ve found online this week…

Mutant Ninja Teenage Turtles co-creator Peter Laird is of the same mind as me and has slammed the catsing of Megan Fox as April O’Neil!  Here is my post about actresses who would be more suitable than Fox.

Terry Pratchett has announced the title of his next Discworld novel!  Although there is no deadline for its completion, no publication date and no we can’t pre-order it…

And finally, here is the trailer for the demi-god Joss Whedon’s new film and its Whedon cast, Alexis Denisof (Wesley in Buffy and Angel), Amy Acker (Fred in Angel) and the lovely Nathan Fillion (Mal in Firefly and Serenity and Caleb in Buffy), Much Ado About Nothing.

Joss Whedon and Shakespeare?  Oh go on then!
It reaches our cinema screens on 14 June 2013.

Leave a Reply

