Will Wolverine Kick Ass?

Today’s will be a short post due to lack of time so I thought I would share with you the new trailer for The Wolverine which was released this week (the trailer, not the film!).

What do you think?

I have mixed emotions.  On one hand, hurrah!  I love Wolverine, Hugh Jackman plays him brilliantly and I’m excited for more action from him.

On the other hand, I know Wolverine is a favourite character but hasn’t he been sort of, kind of, done to death?  The X-Men saga is becoming unruly and Wolverine dominates it.

I had it explained to me that this latest instalment is set after X-Men 3: The Last Stand.  Although we all know that Wolverine continues, I just have a bit of trouble with the plot for this.  What’s the point of it?  Is it simply a ‘what Logan did next’?  X-Men Origins: Wolverine had a purpose – the story behind the making of our favourite character.  For that, I forgave its clichés, its cringey moments and it was saved by the fact that it had Gambit (who could have been better) and a strangely attractive Sabretooth.

What does The Wolverine have, other than a very similar title?  Ninja and Silver Samurai.  I’m going to show myself up here but I don’t care.  Who the hell are they?!

The trailer doesn’t promise much, so what will save it?  Will anything save it?

We’ll have the wait until 26th July to find out…

On another note, this week we also got the Kick Ass 2 trailer and yes, I will definitely be seeing this!  It comes to our cinemas 16th August.

Leave a Reply

