My top three films of 2013

It’s inevitable that as 2013 draws to a close, people begin to look back at the year.  This has been a really busy week for me (with good and bad news.  I hope to share the good news with you very, very soon), so I’m afraid I will also fall into this trap of looking back.

On Wednesday, I looked at my New Years resolution to read more female writers along with three of my favourite reads in 2013.  Now it’s the turn of film.  Three of my favourite films from 2013.
I’d love to know what yours were, leave me a comment or let me know on Twitter/Facebook.

1.  Elysium
I don’t really need to explain, do I?  Frequent visitors to this blog will know that I have a problem, and for the last few months this problem has been all about Elysium and how utterly in love with it I am.  If you need evidence of the fact, here’s my review, and a few other posts that mention it.elysium%252003Elysium is a science fiction film all about class.  It is powerful, fast and with so much potential that it has been at the forefront of my mind for about three months now.  It’s out on DVD in the UK on Boxing Day, for some stupid reason.

2. Star Trek Into Darkness
I’m getting slightly worried now that this is going to be an all science fiction list.  I promise number 3 won’t be science fiction.  Honest.  Unless it’s Gravity, of course.
Oh c’mon, it’s Star Trek!  Of course it’s on the list.  With the almighty Benedict Cumberbatch who seems to be taking over my 2013, what with Star Trek, Frankenstein and, of course, the latest Hobbit film.star trek khanThe sequel to the newest Star Trek was bright, action packed and humourous.  It was perhaps not as good as the first film, but it was still brilliant.  These films continue the true ethos of Star Trek, modernising it (although not too much) for a new generation.  Star Trek Into Darkness is available everywhere now, so if you haven’t seen it yet, grab the popcorn or chocolate and put it on!  It is Christmas, after all.

Edited: 2.  At World’s End
My cousin’s lovely wife reminded me of this amazing 2013 film.  I can’t believe I forgot it!  The last in the Cornetto trilogy (following Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz), At World’s End is an amazing, British sci-fi film.  Emphasis on the British.  A group of old friends do their old pub crawl, finishing at World’s End, only to find that something about their hometown isn’t quite right.  Starring Simon Pegg, Nick Frost and Martin Freeman, among many other big names, this is a fantastic film with an ending that blew my mind!
The-Worlds-End-Simon-Pegg
3. Despicable Me 2
See, not science fiction!  Despicable Me 2 is one of the very few films that can say it is better than its original.  Despicable Me was amazing, Despicable Me 2 is incredible.  It can’t be topped by the third (challenge accepted?).  This film is hilarious, clever and heart warming.  And, unlike the two above, you can watch it with your young family.
Again, it’s out and about everywhere and a perfect family watch for Christmas.  Like you need an excuse.https://i1.wp.com/www.themovies.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/Despicable-Me-Widescreen-Wallpaper.jpg

I know what you’re thinking.  Where’s The Hobbit, Desolation of Smaug?  I imagine that will join this list as a crafty fourth, but as I haven’t seen it yet I can’t possibly comment.
Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

