A royal announcement

I’ve been hinting at it for months and now the time has come to announce it, I’m a little scared. Announcing it to you will make it real. More real than spending money on it, because I’ll actually have to deliver. Which is a good thing, don’t get me wrong, but it’s scary.

I’ve been doing quite well in my mission to get my writing out into the world. Not in any published terms. Not yet. One of my short stories came 2nd in a competition but despite promises, they haven’t published it. They didn’t even publish my name in the magazine as a runner up like they do with everyone else. (Which, to be honest, is quite annoying when that happens to a story you’re immensely proud and fond of.)

Many years ago I had a couple of ideas for stories. They weren’t big stories, but they were bigger than short stories, if you get my meaning. When I had all of my ideas in one place, I realised that four of these not-short-but-not-long stories were all about princesses, and another idea sprang into being.

I shall write a collection of four novellas about princesses!

Fantasy princessThese ideas festered and blossomed and grew, just as the self-publishing trend was taking off. I put two and two together and decided that these four (see, I can do maths) novellas would be a great way to try out a bit of self-publishing. To test the waters, to get my writing out there into the wide world, to hone my marketing skills, and what not.

I finished the first novella just before Christmas 2013 and gave it a final edit early 2014. It’s now with an editor, and of course I still the joys of proofreading, cover design and formatting to get my head around.

These four novellas will cover the genres of fantasy, paranormal, science fiction and a swash buckle of history. I’m aiming to publish at least one a year, as I’ll be doing this around writing short stories, novels and building a writing business and career.
They’ll be published as ebooks to begin with, due to financial constraints, but it is my hope/dream that once all four are published, I can put them into print.
And before you think I’ve gone all girly on you with my sudden princess declaration, please know that as a child I was in love with a book called the Tractor Princess, about a princess who loved oily, dirty tractors.
Phew, glad we’re back on the same page.

I don’t have a launch date yet (it’ll depend on a lot of other factors), but I want to do a run down to the eventual date. So, from now on, Friday posts on this blog will be all about self-publishing and my journey. This will includes things I’m new to, such as the aforementioned editing services, cover design and formatting, not to mention the logistics of self-publishing, but will also include things I know something about, such as good old marketing.

I hope you’ll join me, and maybe even be tempted into purchasing the book in the end, and I hope that the following posts will be helpful, and that we can learn together.

Now, after all that excitement, I think I need a sit down and some chocolate…

7 responses to “A royal announcement

    • Thanks! 😀 It is exciting, will be interesting to see how it turns out.
      Haha, yes, I’m hoping my research will make it easier for other people 😉 xx

  1. Pingback: Self-publishing vs traditional publishing |·

  2. Pingback: Your self-publishing options |·

  3. Pingback: An apology, promise, celebration and thank you. In that order. |·

  4. Pingback: What 2015 will be all about |·

  5. Pingback: Calling it quits on a story |·

Leave a Reply

