My top 10 of 2014

Yup, it’s list time! Must be the end of the year. Now this was supposed to be my top five films of 2014 and my top five books of 2014, but I can’t actually remember much about the beginning of 2014. (I turned 30 this year and along with the new bout of confidence, my memory took a step back.)

I was going to stick to three each but after a good walk around the house, asking the hubby (who was next to useless while playing MarioKart) and using Google to prod my memory, I managed to come up with all ten…almost.

Movies

  1. X-Men: Days of Future Past
    Oh, this film. Very rarely can you say that a film with so many big names lives up to the hype. This is the best X-Men film so far. Not only do old Prof. X (Sir Patrick Stewart) and young Prof. X (James McAvoy) meet but Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) is finally allowed to be the strong, bad ass we know from the comics.
    Best character? Quicksilver. Best scene? This one! Stand aside Flash, Quicksilver’s got you beat.

  2. Guardians of the Galaxy
    A new style of Marvel. If you want straight edges, tough men and strong heroes, then you’ve taken a wrong turn. You want the Avengers. For the accidental heroes (who are much more fun), you want these guys. While Iron Man and Captain America are beating up aliens in New York, these guys are saving the whole damn ‘verse.
    I am Groot. What else needs to be said?
    P.S. Chris Pratt’s in Jurassic Park 4 next summer, so obviously it has to be seen.

  3. Captain America 2: The Winter Soldier
    Don’t get me wrong though, I still love the clean edges of the Avengers. And this year something got to me about Captain America. I didn’t much like him in his origin film, but this one? Nothing quite so intriguing as a man out of his own time. That’s what makes Captain America good but Chris Evans’ contract is up soon. Still, the Winter Soldier is just as interesting…

  4. Chef
    Okay, so enough with the superheroes already! How about a nice, feel good film? Chef has all the names but the script to go with it. It isn’t mind blowing, and it’s a little cliché – a dad who’s lost his way and is losing his relationship with his son, blah blah blah. But still, it works. Especially inspiring for all small business owners who are looking for their passion.

  1. The Lego Movie
    How can this film not be in the list? It’s awesome!
    And if you know the cure for getting that song out of your head, please share.

 

Books

  1. The Ketty Jay Series by Chris Wooding
    Yes, all four of them. No, I didn’t read all four this year but I did read three of them and they. Are. Amazing. If you liked Firefly, you will love this steampunk, pirate, fast paced fantasy.

    Firefly love meme

  2. Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch
    Confession, I haven’t actually finished this yet. I started reading it the other day and I’m already half way through. I don’t want it to end but I. Cannot. Put. It. Down.
    If you haven’t started on the Peter Grant series, I cannot recommend it highly enough. It’s fresh, original and gripping. Urban fantasy at its best. Crime, magic, a character out of his own time and London. Except Foxglove Summer, which is more west country. My luver.
    And there’s more where this came from. This is the first book (book 5 of the Peter Grant series) of a four book deal. The next book is out summer 2015. *begins countdown*
  1. I met Joe Abercrombie! (Half a King)
    Have I told you that I met the Lord of Grimdark this year? Joe Abercrombie, whose first novel, The Blade Itself, I discovered 10 years ago, was doing signings around the country to promote his new YA novel, Half A King. The first of a trilogy, the next book is out early in 2015.

    Joe Abercrombe 2014 J E Nice

  2. Some Kind of Fairy Tale by Graham Joyce
    Graham Joyce sadly passed away this year, actually the day before I finished reading this novel. There’s something about Some Kind of Fairy Tale which grabbed me and wouldn’t let go but at the same time completely freaked me out. It’s that balance between not knowing if the protagonist is mentally ill or there really are fairies. It was worth sticking with to the end and still haunts me (in a good way).
  3. Yeah…there were other good books but none others that I fell madly in love with or were so amazing that they stayed with me. So let’s quickly gloss over 5.

Not the best year, to be honest, but what’s been good has been amazing! Let me know your favourites of 2014 (anyone says the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle film, I will cry), or remind me of any #amazeballs films and books I’ve forgotten.

2 responses to “My top 10 of 2014

  1. I don’t do all that many films – but we got The Lego Movie and Guardians of the Galaxy for Christmas, so I was heartened to hear it was on your top 5 favourite – particularly as we clearly have a fair amount in common in the book department regarding taste. I’ve read a couple of the Ketty Jay series and thoroughly enjoyed them – and I’ll also endorse your choice of ‘Foxglove Summer’ and ‘Half a King’. May I suggest that if you are still waiting to be blown away and haven’t read it yet – track down Jo Walton’s ‘Among Others’. I guarentee you won’t have read anything else quite like it. Meanwhile, I’m going to find Grahme Joyce’s ‘Some Kind of Fairy Tale’… Happy New Year!

    • Thanks!
      I’ll definitely check out Jo Walton’s Among Others, it’ll be good to start the year off right!
      Enjoy the Lego movie and Guardians! Happy New Year 🙂

Leave a Reply

