3 fiction opportunities for May

Today I thought I’d share some writing opportunities with you. I’m hoping to make this a regular thing, in fact I’m hoping to start blogging more regularly too. I want to share with you rejections, successes (because there will be some or there will be trouble), opportunities, advice and opinions.

May is only half way through and my brain has woken up! And I have plans for this website. So keep checking back. Next post will be 29 May and will be my accountable post where I shame myself in how little I’ve done. And then in June, my new plan will come into action.

Anyway, here are three opportunities for this month.

Mslexia Novel Writing Competition

Sorry men, this one’s for women only (Mslexia is a magazine for women who write). The submitted novel needs to be at least 50,000 words and aimed at adults or young adults in any genre.

This is an acclaimed competition with winners, runners up and short listed entrants often finding a publisher and success, not to mention the winner receives £5,000. So I guess it’s understandable that the entry fee is a little…pricey, at £25. One of the judges for 2015 is Juliet Mushens, a great agent who I’ve been following on Twitter for a while and am learning a lot from.

They recommend finishing the book before entering the competition, but don’t worry, the closing date is 21 September 2015. The day after my birthday! So I’m taking this as a sign that I need to get my novel edited and finished.

In memory of Sir Terry Pratchett

This one doesn’t come with great monetary reward but it is for a great cause and in memory of one of the greatest British writers and greatest fantasy writers of all time (in my opinion). Alzheimer’s Research UK is publishing an anthology on the theme of memory as a fan tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett who left us earlier this year.

Stories need to be between 3-8,000 words long and original – no Discworld fan fiction! Submission guidelines are a little different to normal so read them carefully.

Need to get your skates on though. The closing date is 31 May 2015.

Sci-fi Romance

Sci-Fi Romance Quarterly has put out a call for stories. Your story needs a happy ending and a science fiction element in regards to technological and science developments.

The editor has asked for assertive, strong heroines. You can also include erotic themes but they’ll need a literary twist rather than being too sexual.

Stories should be between 2-7,500 words and payment is on publication at 2.5 cents a word (capped at $187.50). You have a little more time with one, the closing date is 1 June 2015!

 

Personally, I’m aiming for the anthology in memory of Terry Pratchett and I’ll be using the novel competition deadline as a goal to finish my novel. I hope that one of these opportunities has inspired you and, if you submit, good luck!

And if you’re needing a little confidence boost, here is a message from the Loch Ness monster…

I believe in myself J E Nice

And you should too!

One response to “3 fiction opportunities for May

  1. Pingback: Accountability for May 2015 | Write into the Woods·

Leave a Reply

